At Bickerton Holy Trinity Church of England Primary School we put the children at the centre of everything we do.  We want our children to receive the best start to their education journey, by providing a broad and balanced curriculum, so that every child develops the building blocks for future learning. We help curiosity flourish, let knowledge take root, build resilience and grow confidence. Our behaviour rules which are ready, respectful and safe are a must.  These core values underpin everyday teaching and provision in our EYFS classroom. The adults work together to foster a climate that teaches children to be safe when taking risks, respectful towards their peers and resources, persevere and be ready to learn and work hard.  This policy explains how we deliver the EYFS curriculum and what our day to day teaching practice looks like. 

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) applies to children from birth to the end of reception year and is based upon these four principles 

Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable confident and self-assured. 

Positive relationships – We recognise that children learn to be strong, secure and independent through positive relationships. 

Enabling Environments – Children learn and develop well in enabling environments with teaching and support from adults, who respond to their individual interests and needs and help them to build their learning over time. Children benefit from a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers. 

We recognise the importance of all areas of learning and development.  Children develop and learn at different rates. 


Playing and Exploring 

The EYFS curriculum follows a framework, which sets out how and what children will be learning to support their physical, emotional, social and academic development. This framework includes 7 areas of learning and development that are equally important and inter-connected sections. The prime areas are particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive 

The 3 prime areas are: 

Communication and language 

  • Listening, attention and understanding
  • Speaking

Physical Development 

  • Gross motor skills
  • Fine motor skills

Personal, social and emotional development 

  • Self regulation
  • Managing self
  • Building relationships

The prime areas are strengthened and applied through 4 specific areas: 


  • Comprehension
  • Word reading
  • Writing


  • Numbers
  • Numerical Patterns

Understanding the world 

  • Past and present
  • People, culture and communities
  • The natural world

Expressive arts and design 

  • Creating with materials
  • Being imaginative and expressive


In addition to these areas of learning, we strive for our children to develop effective characteristics of learning which will enable them to become learners for life. Through our continuous learning environment, the importance of developing the skills of an effective learner are encouraged throughout by providing an enabling learning environment indoors and outdoors. 

The three Characteristics of Effective Learners 

Playing and Exploring – engagement 

Active Learning -motivation 

Creating and Thinking critically – evaluate 


Children learn to be: 

Resourceful – I can find out about…, I am good at finding out about things. 

Resilient - I can do it, I can have a go 

Reflective – I can add…, I can change this to be… 


Files to Download